This blog is basically about the books I read. If you like it, please subscribe. It would also mean a lot if you could also tell me your opinion in the contact form.
Enjoy!

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Review: What I Thought Was True

What I Thought Was True What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

What I Thought Was True is a sweet summer romance with a lot of drama.

Summery From Goodreads
From the acclaimed author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle has never so badly wanted to say good-bye to her island home till now: the summer her Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, takes a job there as the local yard boy. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-you-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.


I liked Gwen's character. She was sweet, moody, and interesting teenager. However, she did have a few flaws. She never complained about having to work, and her romance drama was way overdone.

One thing I dislike about Huntly Fitzpatrick's writing is that she considers sex a minor thing. All of the characters in her book do it casually and do not take is as serious as teens should. I think it might set a bad example to teens.

The drama in this book is way overdone, and drags the book on. This book is over 400 pages, and it could fit into about 200. The drama at the end gets overwhelming and makes the book drown on. However, the ending is perfectly fit into the book.

Cassidy is an interesting character. He is so sweet but kind of weird. He always switches moods. One minute he is in love, and the next he hates Gwen.

One thing that is really confusing about this book is that it switches between past and present. It is hard to tell which one is which, and makes you have to reread a lot.

Despite all of the criticism in this review, this is really a really sweet book that would be perfect for a summer romance lover.


View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment